Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Feeling special

Yes, I'm feeling special. I just won a design award, which is a very nice thing. Indeed. The award I won was for the Best Educational Book category. Yay me.

Here's the press release:

Graphic Design : 2007 Spectrum Print Book Design Awards winners announced

Eagle's Complete Trees and Shrubs of New Zealand, written and illustrated by Audrey Eagle and published by Te Papa Press, swooped away with half of the awards on offer in the 2007 Spectrum Print Book Design Awards. "The judges unanimously agreed that this magnificent two-volume set easily met, and indeed surpassed, the criteria by which the entries had to be judged," said convenor of judges Denis Welch.

Designers Neil Pardington (Base Two) and Robyn Sivewright (Afineline) won Best Illustrated Book, Best Cover, and Best Book overall for their work on this landmark publication. This is Pardington's third consecutive win.

Audrey Eagle's botanical drawings were first published in 1975 by William Collins (New Zealand) Ltd; with a second volume following in 1983. As well as all of the artwork from the previous two volumes, the new volumes contain over 170 new paintings and drawings by Eagle, and showcase every presently known tree and shrub in New Zealand.

The treatment of Eagle's Complete Trees and Shrubs of New Zealand by Pardington (covers) and Sivewright (interiors) has also helped to earn Audrey Eagle and Te Papa Press a nomination for Best Illustrated Book at the Montana Book Awards.

Brief Lives (Auckland University Press) won designers Sarah Maxey and Katrina Duncan, along with artist Brendan O'Brien, the Best Non-Illustrated category of the awards.

The other winners were Cheryl Rowe, awarded Best Children's Book for Legends of Ngatoro-i-rangi (Reed Publishing), and Rose Miller, awarded Best Educational Book for Te Kete Kupu (Huia Publishers) – the first children’s dictionary completely in te reo Māori.

"The high overall standard of the entries indicates a publishing industry in remarkably good shape," said Welch, who was joined on the panel by bookseller Beth Davies and William Chen, founding Art Director of Metro and Art Director of Cuisine.

The book design awards have been run annually since 1997 by the Book Publishers Association of New Zealand.



paintergirl said...

Yay for you Rose!!! How very cool-it's so nice to be recognized.
I hope you celebrated.

Margaret Larkin said...


Anonymous said...

You are an amazing talent.

Fondly as always,

Anonymous said...

Rose: Check this:

Hi there. We'd be grateful if you'd help pass the word about the Ronald Sukenick/American Book Review Innovative Fiction Prize sponsored by Fiction Collective Two (FC2).



The Ronald Sukenick/American Book Review Innovative Fiction Contest is open to any writer of English who is a citizen of the United States and who has not previously published with Fiction Collective Two. Submissions may include a collection of short stories, one or more novellas, or a novel. Works that have previously appeared in magazines or in anthologies may be included. Translations and previously self-published collections are not eligible. To avoid conflict of interest, former or current students or close friends of the final judge for 2008, Michael Martone, are ineligible to win the contest. Employees and Board members of FC2 are not eligible to enter.


Finalists for the Prize will be chosen by the following members of the FC2 Board of Directors: Kate Bernheimer, R. M. Berry, Brian Evenson, Noy Holland, Brenda Mills, Lance Olsen (Chair), Susan Steinberg, and Lidia Yuknavitch.

The winning manuscript in 2008 will be chosen from the finalists by FC2 Board of Directors member Michael Martone.

Selection criteria will be consistent with FC2's stated mission to publish "fiction considered by America's largest publishers too challenging, innovative, or heterodox for the commercial milieu," including works of "high quality and exceptional ambition whose style, subject matter, or form pushes the limits of American publishing and reshapes our literary culture."

For contest updates and full information on FC2's mission, history, aesthetic commitments, authors, events, and books, please visit the website at: fc2.org.


Contest entries will be accepted beginning 15 August 2007. All entries must be postmarked no later than 1 November 2007. The winner will be announced May 2008.


The Prize includes $1000 and publication by FC2, an imprint of the University of Alabama Press. In the unlikely event that no suitable manuscript is found among entries in a given year, FC2 reserves the right not to award a prize.

Manuscript Format

Please submit either TWO hardcopies of the manuscript, or ONE hardcopy and one Word file of the manuscript on a labeled CD.

The manuscript must be:

--anonymous: the author's name or address must not appear anywhere on the manuscript (the title page should contain the title only); include a separate cover page with your name and contact information;

--typed on standard white paper, one side of the page only; paginated consecutively; bound with a spring clip or rubber bands; no paper clips or staples, please.

Please include a self-addressed, stamped postcard for notification that manuscript has been received, and a self-addressed, stamped, regular business-sized envelope for contest results.

We strongly advise that you send your manuscript first class.

Please retain a copy of your manuscript; FC2 cannot return manuscripts. Submission of more than one manuscript is permissible if each manuscript is accompanied by a $25 reading fee. Once submitted, manuscripts cannot be altered; the winner will be given the opportunity to make changes before publication. Simultaneous submissions to other publishers are permitted, but FC2 must be notified immediately if manuscript is accepted elsewhere. FC2 will consider all finalists for publication.

Submission Address

Full manuscripts, accompanied by a check made out to American Book Review for the mandatory reading fee of $25, should be sent to:

Ronald Sukenick American Book Review Innovative Fiction Prize
American Book Review
University of Houston-Victoria
School of Arts and Sciences
3007 N. Ben Wilson
Victoria, TX 77901-5731

CLMP Contest Ethics Code

CLMP's community of independent literary publishers believes that ethical contests serve our shared goal: to connect writers and readers by publishing exceptional writing. We believe that intent to act ethically, clarity of guidelines, and transparency of process form the foundation of an ethical contest. To that end, we agree to:

1) conduct our contests as ethically as possible and to address any unethical behavior on the part of our readers, judges, or editors;

2) to provide clear and specific contest guidelines--defining conflict of interest for all parties involved; and

3) to make the mechanics of our selection process available to the public.

Brenda L. Mills
Executive Editor
Department of English
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL 32306-1580
850 644 2260
fax 850 644 6808


Lilly said...

Rose Rose Rose! That is brilliant! You SHOULD feel very special, girl :-) Well done, and big congratz! :-)

I know I said ages ago that I'd catch up with you[r blog] but sadly I've not managed to do so yet. And I feel awful about it. Heck, I don't even have the time these days to catch up with my non-Blogger friends!

Anyroads, very happy for you -- you deserve it!


O'Grady said...

Testing 1-2-3. Testing.




O'Grady said...

Good morning.

O'Grady said...

Rise and shine.

O'Grady said...

O Star.

Blue Star.

O'Grady said...

Here comes the sun.

Lilly said...

Rose, thanks a bunch for the sign of life at Lilly's Lounge the other day. I am really glad to see you're currently working on a big comeback in the Blogosphere :-D We miss you!!

Hope life is treating you well. Be well and take care. Good vibes in your direction,
Lilly x

Rose said...

Yes, I'm back!